actually  ...  she gets her good looks from *me*

~ I want to be just like her when I grow up ~


My passions

What you'll find on my bookshelf:
I've been reading for pleasure since I learned to string C-A-T together. I started with the books in my mother's bookshelf, "Gone With the Wind" in 3rd grade, don't know how much I understood but I'd seen the movie and loved it! My favorite authors along the way have been Jakes, Michener, Clavell, Upton Sinclair, Mary Stewart, Stephen King, J.R.R. Tolkein, Tami Hoag, Patricia Cornwell, Fred Bigjim--a fairly eclectic group.

My pet peeves are:
People who feel sorry for themselves and love to tell you about it.
Sensationalist media

In my spare time I like to:
I love to read novels, do a lot of writing, sit and catch the sun (which it really does in Seattle), work with the local historical society, am active in my professional group and love to hang out on the Internet.


My dreams and aspirations

The one person I'd like to spend an hour with:
Eleanor Roosevelt

because...
I admire her choice to make a difference and the courage it took to follow it at a time when women just stayed home and took care of the family.

If I had one wish it would be:
To go back to the day I picked up my first cigarette and choose to leave it alone instead of waiting until I had smoked for thirty years and injured my health.

The dreams I've realized in my life are:
I've become a woman my mother and grandmothers would be proud of and am within 20 credits of being the first in my family to earn a college degree.

In the next five years I'd like to:
When I've earned my A.A.S. degree, I plan to transfer to a 4 year college and earn a B.A. in Communications. When I retire from my job at 62, I want to go into business as an educational communications consultant and staff trainer.

Words I live by:
God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; the courage to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference. This little number has kept me growing strong for the last 14 and a half years.

My biggest challenge in life:
I have COPD (emphysema) and have had to adjust some of the physical activities I've always enjoyed. I can't hike up steep hills anymore.


Just the facts

I am from: Seattle, Washington

Birthday: March 27, 1939

Marital status: Divorced but involved

My computer:
Compaq Presario

My favorite Third Age discussion: Too soon to tell

Kids:
Children: 4
Grandchildren: 5

My animal companion(s):
Bosco--a spoiled, rotten, black Persian-mix, eight year old cat who allows me to live here, buy his food and tend to his every need. I also feed birds and squirrels for my pleasure and Bosco's frustration.

The topic(s) most important to me:
Spirituality
Politics (I'm a pragmatic liberal Democrat), writing, native culture, recovery programs





archives
*footnotes*
throw a rock